How to Change the Language in Google Docs


- Written by Puneet

To create documents in multiple languages, Google Docs allows you to change the default language (English) to any other language (Dutch, Hindi, or French). You can also translate the existing file language using the translation language option. This tutorial will review the methods of changing the typing and the default language.

Change the Typing Language of a Single Document

You can change the typing language of the particular document. However, these setting changes will not apply to the rest of your documents.

  • Open the existing or new document where you want to change the typing language.
  • Afterward, click on File and hover over Language.
  • Select a new language for your document from the list of languages.
  • The selected language will apply with the same effect.

Note: If you choose a non-Latin language, such as Hindi, you must select the input tool icon to use it.

This Input Tools drop-down will appear on the top toolbar. Select the Hindi keyboard here, or even use the draw option.

Change Language using Language Translation

Sometimes, you need to translate a document into another language. So, the language translation option in Google Docs is the best method.

  • First, select or open the Google Docs document with the text you want to translate.
  • Then, go to Tools and select the Translate document option.
  • In the translate document window, type the name of the translated document in the title box.
  • Next, choose the language you want to translate from the language drop-down menu.
  • Now, click Translate to change the language.
  • Finally, a new window will open in a new tab with the translated document.

Note: With this method, you can only translate the whole document rather than the specific part.

Change the Default Typing Language

The following steps help you change the default language for all Google applications. In the other languages section, you can also add a secondary language.

  • In Google Drive, click the Settings icon in the top-right corner.
  • Now, select Settings in the drop-down menu.
  • Then, click on Change language settings in the general settings window.
  • To change the Preferred language, click the Edit icon.
  • Next, enter the language such as English and the country (United Kingdom).
  • Click Save to add it as the default typing language.
  • If you want to add other languages, click the option below.
  • Again, please choose the language and region, then Save to add it to your account.